Leftover Biscuit Pudding

It never happens.  There are never leftover biscuits.  Never.  And yet there they are: stale biscuits.  In my defense, I’ve been alone in the house, and really not home much so there were almost a dozen biscuits that went uneaten.  I figured I’d just take them to my meetup group and something would happen to them then.  But no. So they came back home with me.  “Screw it,” I thought to myself, “I’ll just make bread pudding with them.”  By golly it was tasty.

It might even be worth, dare I say it, letting biscuits go stale. (Huh, lightning actually didn’t strike me dead just then.)

Biscuit Bread Pudding

img_8484

9 small biscuits, broken up
1/3 c dried fruit – apricots, chopped or golden raisins (if you got them/want them)
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c cream
2 c milk
1 T vanilla
2 T brandy
1/2 t cinnamon

1/2 cream
1 1/2 T sugar
maple syrup

Preheat oven to 325°f.

Put biscuits with dried fruit mixed in in a loaf pan. Mix together the rest of the ingredients in a bowl. Pour over the biscuits and dunk down the pieces that are sticking up. Place pan into a larger pan. Put into oven, pour enough water into the larger pan to make it half way up the bread pan.

biscuitbreadpud21

Cook for 45 min to 1 hour, pudding is done when liquid stuff has solidified and looses it’s shine. When it’s done, take bread pan out of the water and place it on a wire rack. Let cool for 30 minutes to an hour. Whip cream and sugar together until the cream stands in hard peaks. Slice up slices of the pudding, drizzle with maple syrup and dollop with whipped cream. Enjoy!

Love always,

MrsMarv

3 thoughts on “Leftover Biscuit Pudding

Leave a Reply

