Too, too frickin’ simple… breakfast.

Cooking for my mother can be tough. She’s picky. She’s very picky. But when she called me up in November and said, “I’m almost out of the good ones biscuits.” I knew exactly what she wanted.



When I had stayed with her while she was recovering from surgery in the summer – I had played around with biscuit recipes again. I have always made better biscuits than a girl from the North Shore of Chicago has a right to, but they weren’t enough to make my mother call in a panic. However, Lisa, the Homesick Texan’s are.

While I’d love to be able to say that I follow her recipe exactly, I can’t. But I don’t change it much. Really just the process a little teeny tiny bit. So, normally I would photograph the process to all hell and leave it be at that, but I like the way she writes too much, so I’m replicating the recipe bit here and telling you to go read the original entry.*

But biscuits alone, even though they’re filling up my mom’s refrigerator right now, aren’t enough to get my mom’s attention. I had to add some killer strawberries from the farmers market with a bit of sour cream mixed with honey and vanilla seed. Now, that’ll get you out of bed, right? (Oh yeah, so… right, maybe someone will serve it to you in bed.)

Homesick Texan’s Biscuits
Monday, April 23, 2007, http://homesicktexan.blogspot.com/2007/04/everythings-better-with-biscuits.html

Ingredients:
Two cups of flour
1 tablespoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of sugar (can add more to taste)
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 stick of butter, cold (8 tablespoons)
3/4 cup of buttermilk, cream or half-and-half

Method:
Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Mix all the dry ingredients together.

Cut the stick of butter into pieces, and work into the flour mixture with your hands or a pastry blender until it resembles pea-sized crumbs.

Add the liquid, mixing until a bit loose and sticky.

Pour dough out on a floured surface, and knead for a minute. Dough should be smooth and no longer wet. You can sprinkle more flour on the surface if you find it’s sticking.

Take dough into a ball, and hit it with a rolling pin, turning it and folding it in half every few whacks. Do this for a couple of minutes.

Roll out dough until it’s 1/4 of an inch thick, and then fold it in half.

Using a round cutter (can use a glass or a cup if don’t have a biscuit cutter) cut out your biscuits from folded dough.

Place on a greased baking sheet close together (so they rise up not out), and bake for 15 minutes or until the tops are golden brown.

Makes 10-12 biscuits.

The only thing that I change is that I do the mixing in a food processor. I add in the butter first and pulse until the butter is about pea sized, then I add in the buttermilk with the processor running. Once the dough is combined into one big lump, I pour it out onto the counter and kneed a bit. Also rather than throwing down more flour if the dough starts sticking to the counter I just put it on some parchment paper. Oh, and I use self rising flour. (I swear that’s all I changed.)

Balsamic Strawberries
1 pint strawberries, hulled and sliced
1 – 2 T sugar
1 – 2 t balsomic vinegar

Mix and chill for 30 min or more.

Sour Cream
1/4 c sour cream or yogurt
2 T honey
seeds from one vanilla bean

Mix and chill.

Assembleage
When the biscuits get out of the oven, do whatever you’d like with them, the strawberries, and sour cream. Then eat.

* Curses! After I wrote that I ended up changing it. I just couldn’t get the need to make a cheddar green onion biscuit out of my head. So:

2 cups of flour
1 tablespoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of sugar
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 stick of butter, cold cut into 1″ slices
3/4 cup of buttermilk
1/2 c cheddar cheese
1 – 2 oz parmesan, finely shredded
1/4 c green onions, finely sliced

Preheat oven to 450°f.

Process dry ingredients, except for cheeses and onions in food processor for a moment. Add in butter and process until it’s pea sized. While processor is running add in buttermilk and process until it’s one big lump. Turn out onto a piece of parchment paper. Press out with your finger tips. Sprinkle cheeses and onion over the top and kneed in a bit. Pound out in the manner described above.

Roll out to 1/4″. Fold 1/2 over and cut with a biscuit cutter or glass. Bake for 15 mins or until brown and done.

Enjoy.

Love always,

Mrs. Marv

8 thoughts on “Too, too frickin’ simple… breakfast.

  1. Brilynn – absolutely. But the charge might be bad.

    Michelle – It was really good, wasn’t it?

    Deborah – I know! That really would be the best.

  2. Pingback: my recipies

  3. Pingback: Leftover Biscuit Pudding « To be Mrs. Marv…

Leave a Reply

