Lamb in Bell’s Expedition Stout Gravy Pot Pie

In the midst of our kitchen remodel Marv turned to me and said the sweetest words a girl can ever hear, “Can I just have this refrigerator for my birthday so that I can start cold curing sausage and you just get a new one.”

Why, yes, my dear, you can.

Few things can be better than having more random meat products* show up in the house, but the new refrigerator is. We downgraded. Couldn’t be happier about it either. We had the smallest standard-size refrigerator you can buy here. It was 19cf or so. For the new one we got a 14.5cf Summit which is counter depth and about 6.5′ high. We can now actually find things. I hope to never again loose anything that was really tasty but I didn’t know we had any left.

There was one problem. We did have to clean out the freezer a bit. Maybe not so much a problem. Had some lamb, had some pie crusts and had some Bells Expedition Stout a kindly chef left me. To me, that looked like a pot pie. (I do so love a pot pie. Alright, I love any pie, but pot pies do keep their own special place in my heart.) As a last little touch I added in some manchego cheese (the kindly chef also left behind) to melt right under the crust. It was frightfully good.


Lamb Pot Pie

lambpotpie.jpg

6 lamb chops
1 onion, coarsely chopped
olive oil

2 T butter
2 T flour
2 c organic beef broth

1/2 onion, chopped into bite sized pieces
4 carrots, chopped into bite sized pieces
8 oz brown mushrooms, into bite sized pieces

1lb fingerling potatoes, boiled and cut into bite sized pieces.
3 T beef demiglase
salt to taste
1 c Bell’s Expedition Stout
manchego cheese, sliced

pie crust

Heat a bit of olive oil until it gets hot enough to shimmer. Place lamb into the oil and cook until nicely browned. Turn over and brown the other side. Remove from heat and add in onions. Cook until tender and add in butter. Once butter is melted add in flour. Lower heat and cook until browned. Add in beef broth 1/2 c at a time and cook until thickened before adding in the next 1/2 c. Once gravy reduces down to be a bit too thick add in the stout.

Break up the lamb into bite sized pieces. Heat up a bit more olive oil and cook onions and carrots until just about tender. Add in mushrooms and cook until they’re all tender. Add in the gravy and the lamb. Remove from heat and let sit while you roll out the dough.

potpie2.jpg

Preheat oven to 400°f.

Roll out the pie crust dough until they’re between 1/4″ to 1/8″ inch thick. Turn whatever baking dish you’re going to put the pies in over and rest on top of the dough. (I used some larger individual ramekins.) Cut around the rim of the dish giving yourself about an extra 1/2″ to 1/4″ of lip. Put lamb & gravy mixture into the dish, top with manchego and cover with the dough crimping the edge however you like. (I just cut it off.)

potpietop.jpg

Place baking dishes on a cookie sheet. Bake until crust is golden brown and cooked through, about 15 min. Let cool a bit and serve.

*I have made the mistake of telling him that I’m not looking forward to the day when he just brings home a whole hog to butcher. He said that sounded like permission. We will see if my optimism about random meat products holds up.

4 thoughts on “Lamb in Bell’s Expedition Stout Gravy Pot Pie

  1. That looks amazing. The manchego cheese is an especially nice touch.

    I remember when I tried it for the first time. I was in Spain and my host parents were extremely amused as they watched my eyes light up. They had to buy new blocks every week because I would finish it all.

  2. I’m so afraid of cooking with lamb, but I admit this dish looks so tasty and mouthwatering. That crust is so darn flaky, marie callender has nothing on you! This looks like a great recipe :D.

  3. Sherry – Thank you, and yes, I love manchego with savory things.

    Rachel – No, didn’t get to do that, but I should have!

    Sophie – Yes, took me quite awhile to get the pie crust down, and I’ll never go back to any other method!

Leave a Reply

