Chubble: Part 2

chubbleagain2.jpg

I pretty much only make chubble once a year; Christmas time. I give it away as presents and then it goes away for another year or two. I set aside a day and just go to town making about 12 loaves at once. It turns out that not everybody does a baking day, so I got a lot of questions after I posted the chubble recipe the first time about what to do if you don’t want to serve it that day.

Well, I really didn’t know. I could guess, but actual hands-on knowledge eluded me. I decided to change that. I basically ran through every iteration of bake/freeze/rise I could think of. Oddly enough, they all worked out pretty well. The results are listed below.

In order to not get bored, I decided to do a different variation, gruyere with the bacon, Marv makes and green onions. It was really good. You might want to try it. Enjoy!

Gruyere & Bacon Chubble Stuffs
chubblegruybacstuffs.jpg

7 – 8 oz Gruyere Cheese, grated
1/4 – 1/2 bacon (homemade, if you can get it), cut thick and cooked, reserving the grease
2 bunches green onions or equivalent scallions, sliced thin
1/3 c parmesan cheese
1 – 1/2 t kosher salt (depending on how salty your cheese is)
2 t garlic power
1 1/2 t dried basil
2 T bacon grease

Follow the recipe for chubble up to the point where you mix together the the stuffs then just substitute these ingredients and carry on as you were.

Chubble: Delayed Method
chubblegruybac.jpg

Option 1
Bring chubble up to the point where you put in in your baking dishes to do the second rise. Place in a food safe plastic bag and let it rise in the refrigerator over night or up to 3 days.

Option 2
Bring chubble through the second rise and bake for 20 – 25 minutes. (When it’s solidly set up it’s done.) Remove from oven and cool. Put into freezer bag and freeze. Leave in the freezer up to 3 weeks. (The texture isn’t as good if you leave it in longer, but you can.)

When you’re ready to cook, heat oven to 425°f. Cook for 10 – 12 minutes. (Bread should be browned and sound hollow when you knock on it.)

Option 3
This is the weakest option. Before or directly after the second rise, put dough in freezer bag and place in freezer for up to 3 weeks. Defrost dough in refrigerator. If the bread hasn’t gone through the second rise, place it in a warm place to rise (it might not work but mine did.) For bread that’s gone through the second rise, preheat oven and cook as the chubble recipe directs.

7 thoughts on “Chubble: Part 2

  1. Our family LOVED your chubble bread when I made it a few weeks ago, and it actually has become my most popular post with something like 17,000 views. So, to all of you who have considered making it, really…make it. You’ll love it, and you can vary the ingredients according to what you have on hand. Yum. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe, and trying it out with the variations on rising and baking. I’ll add it to my cut and pasted recipe to refer to when I make it again. Which may have to happen soon. Thanks!

  2. Grace – you are very welcome.

    Bri – Damn girl, I didn’t even get that many hits. Good for you!

    You are very welcome. I’m so glad it’s working for you. And thank you for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

