I make one hell of a snickerdoodle.

Just so you know.

I love snickerdoodles. But a lot of the time they’re bland and boring. I created this recipe to have a bit more depth of flavor by adding cream cheese for creaminess and vinegar for contrast so they end up being more of a sour cream snickerdoodle. (Yum!) These are not your average snickerdoodles, cuz I’m not your average girl.

Mrs. Marv’s SNICKERDOODLES
snickerdoodledone.jpg
Behold the mighty snickerdoodle!

1/2 c butter
1/2 c shortening
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2oz cream cheese, at room temp
1 T apple cider vinegar
1 t vanilla

1 1/2 c sugar
3 c flour
2 t cream of tartar
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt

3 T sugar
1 1/2 T cinnamon

Cream butter, shortening and sugar. Add eggs, cream cheese, vinegar and vanilla. Sift dry ingredients (except for sugar and cinnamon) together and combine. Chill dough a couple of hours or overnight.

snickerdoodle1.jpg
Hey there little guys. How do feel like a short trip to a hot oven?

Preheat oven to 400°f. Mix sugar and cinnamon together. Roll dough to size of walnuts and coat in cinnamon sugar. Transfer to parchment paper lined cookie sheet and press flat with your fingers or a glass. Bake 8 – 12 minutes. Do not over-bake. With my oven and the size of the cookies that I make it takes 11 minutes. They are done when they are no longer shiny in the cracks. Rest on baking sheet for 1 minute, then transfer to a cooling rack.

snickerdoodlestack.jpg
And then you stack them up and take their picture!

13 thoughts on “I make one hell of a snickerdoodle.

  1. Snicker doodles are my favorite cookies, I can’t imagine how sour cream elevates this beautiful cookie, I bet they are wonderful…I’m trying this for sure.

  2. These sound yummy…sour cream, cream cheese …these are a few of my favorite things.
    I found you blog via Tastespotting. I just made Chocolate Chia Snickerdoodles that I found on Slashfood last year.(http://www.fayobserver.com/blog?id=87) I love the texture of snickerdoodles! Crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. Perhaps we can start a trend of versions of snickerdoodles ..and then we can market them and become RICH! OH, wait! Shhh, don’t let anyone else read this ..they might steal our idea!

  3. hannehanne – funny, stacked cookies do look so inviting.

    Patricia – thanks! I think the cream cheese vinegar thing is just me.

    Courtney – Yeah, that was what I thought too, but it didn’t work. The flavor wasn’t quite there and that was too much liquid in the sour cream so they didn’t set up right. So, I switched it to cream cheese & vinegar.

    JEP – thanks!

    Lydia – Good call on the word elevates – I was just trying to run out the door so I couldn’t really think of another one. What it does is deepen the flavor – adds another dimension. For my palate, it’s very pleasing because I like a touch of the sour/sweet but you’ll just have to see for yourself. Or swing by Minnesota and grab one from my table here.

    Sindy – count me in!

  4. Pingback: Food, Glorious Food! | This Journey

  5. Well… they’re delicious. But it’s been so long since I’ve had normal snickerdoodles that I can’t tell if they’re that different.

    Definitely tasty though!!! Thanks

  6. After trying a “cream cheese/vinegar” variety of a snickerdoodle, I went in search of the recipe, and my search brought me here. Don’t know if this is the same recipe, but I’m here to tell you the cookie I tasted is worth trying this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

  7. Pingback: Snickerdoodles « The Crepes of Wrath

  8. Pingback: Snickerdoodles | The Crepes of Wrath

  9. Niiiice! We are having a cookies & beer night with these and wow, they are disappearing. I was drawn to this recipe initially because I wanted something like the sour cream cookies my roommate used to make, but they are so much better!

Leave a Reply

