Summertime Dirge Pancakes (Lemon & Berry)

I’ve always thought of pancakes as being a sort of one hit wonder. As it turns out – pancakes are awesome. I did some pumpkin pancakes last fall, and they were super yum. So, I decided I wanted to play around with a summertime buttermilk pancake to highlight summer berries. Just to get one last bite of summer.

I decided to work on a buttermilk lemon pancake – to be topped with lemon curd (or preserves), fresh berries and sprinkled with powder sugar or to make blueberry lemon pancakes – topped with lemon curd or blueberry compote or even a honey based syrup. Yummy. What a way to go out.

Summertime Dirge Pancakes
lemonblueberry1blog.jpg

1 1/2 c unbleached all purpose flour
1/2 c whole wheat flour
3 T sugar
2 1/2 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1/2 t cinnamon
zest from 2 lemons

2 c buttermilk or milk
juice from half a lemon
1 egg, lightly beaten
3 T butter, almost melted
1 T vanilla
1 T lemon extract
cooking spray

Whisk together dry ingredients. In a separate bowl whisk together wet ingredients. Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients or dry ingredients into wet ingredients until they’re just barely mixed together.

Heat griddle, sprayed with cooking spray, over medium to medium high heat. Once up to heat, scoop 1/4 c of batter on to the griddle and make a test cake. Flip once the top side is covered in bubbles. Adjust heat if necessary. Add in more liquid if the pancakes are too thick.

lemonpancakesblog.jpg
Here lie the pancakes, food for Kris and Marv, loved by all. RIP

Blueberry Variation
Once batter is poured out onto the pan sprinkle blueberries into cake and continue cooking as normal.

lemonblueberry2blog.jpg lemonblueberry3blog.jpg

7 thoughts on “Summertime Dirge Pancakes (Lemon & Berry)

  1. I was drawn to your recipe because, as it happens, I am somewhat known for my pancakes (in a minor, familial sort of way). How strange to find, via a Frenchwoman’s blog, that you are a fellow Minnesotan. Your pancake recipe sounds scrumptious and I will definitely try it. Checked out your other entries: beautiful photos, delicious-sounding recipes, and intriguing prose…

  2. Maxine: Thank you!

    Robbie: Why, thank you! I’m so glad to know that someone from MN (that I don’t know) is reading this. I keep wondering if I should drop that as something I chat about. (Minnesota isn’t really known for it’s culinary contributions.) But coming up next is my eating local month entry – corn and wild rice chowder. We will see what happens after that.

    Speaking of which – there is a recipe for an German apple puff pancake on my site – if you want to try a different kind of pancake. October is the perfect time of year for it – when the apples taste so good. http://tobemrsmarv.com/theoretically-homesick-apple-pancake/

    Enjoy!

    – Kris

  3. Yum! I love pancakes. The recipe you have can also be made eggless (for people who don’t eat eggs) because the lemon juice and milk or buttermilk react to make the pancakes rise. It’s very cool. Plus, lemon curd on pancakes (especially meyer lemon)…YUM! Thanks for sharing. Now I’m hungry.

  4. Love your blog. It’s nice to know that there is another Minnesotan out there sharing recipes. I admit that I have photo envy… your food pics are fantastic. You have imotivated me to make improvements to the website that i launched in June. Thanks for the recipes and inspiration.

  5. Pingback: For the Love of Food » Strawberry & Banana Pancakes and Sofas - recipes

Leave a Reply

