Carrot Soup for Jodie Rose

In the backlog that is my life, this one has been the blinking turn signal on a car driving in front of me for the past 100 miles. Two months ago, I figured I’d post this recipe because Jodie asked me about it. I thought well, that’s an easy one – slow cook, dump in a blender – photograph and *poof* post done. Clearly – this didn’t happen.

Until now! Brace yourselves people – carrot soup is here. Or rather, in my fridge. It’s tasty, healthy and freaky low cal. Almost gets me a little pissed off at it – but there it is. It’s perfect. (Grumble. Grumble. I know, I know – let’s kick it’s ass!)

Carrot Soup with Caramelized Onion and Ginger

carrotgingersoupblog.jpg

1 T olive oil
2 large yellow onions, chopped
10 medium carrots peeled and cut into rounds (about 1 small bag)
3 to 4 inch piece of ginger, peeled and chopped
2 garlic cloves smashed
5 cups organic vegetable broth
2 sprigs of fresh herbs such as thyme, chives, cilantro or parsley
2 bay leaves
salt & pepper
2 T of cream or 1/4c lean sour cream
1 or 2 T fruit flavored vinegar (preferably coconut or key lime), or rice wine vinegar

Caramelize the onions by any means you wish*. Remove half of the onions and set aside. Add in the carrots, ginger and garlic and sauté for a couple of minutes to pan roast them a bit. Add in the vegetable broth and sprigs of fresh herbs, bay leaves, salt and pepper. Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about a half an hour.

Remove the herbs and bay leaves. Ladle half or all of the carrot mixture into a blender or food processor and blend until it reaches your desired consistency. Pour blended mixture into a bowl or another pan if you would like to re-heat after blending. Blend the rest of the mixture and pour it in with the rest. Add in the cream, vinegar and add more salt if it needs more flavor. If it needs thinning you can add in more broth or milk.

This soup is rather versatile. You can serve it hot or cold, and it refrigerates and freezes well.

*Marv and I tend to argue about these things, so I promise no judgment here. You can add brown sugar into your onions. It’s not really cheating – and I won’t let him say anything.

3 thoughts on “Carrot Soup for Jodie Rose

  1. Awsome!!

    Thanks so much.

    I was just sitting here thinking about how to get more veggies back into our regimen now that school has begun and all the summer travel is done, no kidding. This will be perfect. Sophie and I can have it for lunches and I can send it with Anna to school in a thermos.

    I can’t wait to try it.

    Happy Fall!

    Jodie

  2. Oh, and since I just got around to checking them out, thanks for posting the pics of the girls and me from our trip. Since we were lame and didn’t bring our camera, its great to have some to look at and remember what a great time we had. I love the ones of Kyndell too. Her hair is so pretty. *hee*

    Jodie

Leave a Reply

