Quest for some really fine homemade frozen yogurt…

I really love frozen yogurt. I think I may love it even more than ice cream. Skipping over the soft serve type, I really love that yogurt brings a different flavor to the table than ice cream. I’m not a big one for “healthy” foods replacing “unhealthy” foods. I like to enjoy ingredients for their own properties, not because they can taste like something else. I find the tangyness that yogurt has to be really interesting. Obviously, this works well when you’re making a lemon or ginger frozen yogurt, but I wanted to explore what it could bring to other flavors like chocolate. I found that the lower the fat content in the yogurt the more tang that it had.

Since “tangy” and “chocolate” aren’t really words that people naturally think go together, I decided to create a bridge between these flavors with the addition of some good old fashioned booze. For the first batch that I made, I used Kahlua and dark chocolate. The dark chocolate got really crumbly after being frozen so I changed it to a chopped up Kahlua milk chocolate bar. It was really good. I rounded out the rest of the flavor by serving it with some blackberries I had on hand. And then I couldn’t stop eating it and decided that I was just going to keep eating it until I died and had to be removed from my house by a crane. (My plan ran into problems when I realized my ice cream maker is a bit too small to actually follow through with this.)

Kahlua Chocolate Chocolate Chip Frozen Yogurt

kahluachocolateyogurt2blog.jpg

2 vanilla yogurt, drained*
1/3 c Kahlua
1/2 corn syrup
1/3 c cocoa powder
1/4 c chocolate syrup
1/2 c sugar
pinch salt
1/2 bar Kahlua milk chocolate, chopped coarsely

In a mixing bowl combine corn syrup and Kahlua. Sift cocoa into corn syrup mixture while stirring continuously. Add in yogurt, chocolate syrup, sugar and salt. Stir until smooth. Pour into ice cream maker and follow the directions for your ice cream maker. When ice cream is done add in the chocolate chips let it turn a couple of times to mix in. Transfer mixture to a container and freeze until hard.

kahluachocolateyogurtblog.jpg

* Drain yogurt by placing it in cheese cloth lined colander over a bowl for 12 – 24 hours.

11 thoughts on “Quest for some really fine homemade frozen yogurt…

  1. i too wandered in via tastespotting.

    i think i need some ice cream (or something equally frozen and delicious) RIGHT NOW.

  2. Hi Eddie – I got the idea to do it this way from a cooks illustrated light cheesecake recipe – the bulk of it was made from yogurt cheese – which seemed to me to be quite a bright idea. And I figured that it would work pretty well to make frozen yogurt. I think the corn syrup helps to soften it too. But, I think the alcohol made it a bit harder than my frozen yogurt is normally. I don’t have any proof of this.

    Popaka – I know what you mean. I keep looking at these pictures and wanting to make more! Unfortunately, it does take over 24 hours to make. But it is worth it.

    Thank you both for stopping by and commenting.

  3. Very nice! I’ve made vanilla frozen yogurt twice in the past four days with Greek yogurt (which doesn’t need to be drained) and vanilla bean. And I’m with you on the seductive ‘tang’ …

  4. Can’t wait to try this. But, how much yogurt? You mention “2”–does that mean two 8-oz containers, two 16-oz containers, two cups of yogurt? Please let me know. The pictures are making me drool!

    Thanks

  5. Lucia – Thank you very much for the kind words and for pointing out the missing – but rather important information. It’s two of the big containers of yogurt 2 – lbs. They’re on 2 for 1 sale quite often around here, so that’s when I pick them up to make frozen yogurt.

  6. I have recently started making frozen yogurt and I having difficulty with the yogurt freezing too solid. Will the draining of the yogurt resolve this issue? If not I could sure use some ideas.

    Thanks

  7. Hey Jason,

    You know what, you’re the third person who has asked me this. I think it must – because I haven’t had a problem with it getting really hard. What happens is that the yogurt gets thick – like ricotta – so there wouldn’t be enough watery bits to freeze up really hard. Another thing that you could try would be adding in a mixture of fruit or berries that have be tossed in a blender with a bit condensed milk – the fruit fibers and the fat solids should keep the yogurt from getting really hard.

    Good luck to you and let me know how it goes.

  8. Hi there Mrs Marv, what amount of yoghurt? You don’t say. Is it containers? If so, how large should they be? I’d like to give this recipe a go so would appreciate your response. Ta.

Leave a Reply

