What my brother did to my soup.

My brother, Kevin, and I are the black sheep of my family. We cook. I’m not really sure how that happened. Odder still is that we seem to be moving in the same direction with our cooking. In my family, food is a value. We have to know where to get the best pizza. We have to know where the dive is that makes their homemade fries the right way. We have to know what the best cheddar cheese is or well, frankly what the best (insert food item here) is and where to find it. So, it’s not really that odd that food is important to us. Kevin and I just the only ones interested in creating it as well (or better) than we could get it elsewhere.

For me, this has been evolving for awhile. Several years ago I started work on the second version of Mrs. Marv’s Cookbook which was a pretty big departure from the original. It had been my personal recipe box and attempt to rectify my complete inability to take still life photographs when photography was my major in college. Since then, my cooking had evolved from recipe following to recipe creating and my photo-ability was coming along nicely. It was getting a lot more interesting.

cornsoupblog2.jpg
My soup.


As I started working on my recipe creating – I found that I really had a thing for soups. I wasn’t really that big on the traditional noodle or cream soups. But I found that I really had a thing for pureed vegetable soups. Eventually, that led me to create this roasted corn, basil and lime soup. When I made it for my mom and brother, he had a bit of a problem with my use of basil rather than cilantro but liked it well enough. (I’m sticking by the basil.)

The next day he turned this soup into a sauce for some shrimp, lime and Manchego ravioli. And they were good, really good. Brother and sister seem to cook nice together.

So, here is the recipe for the ravioli, the soup recipe is here. One recommendation I have is that if you want the sauce to be pretty and yellow use Whole Foods 365 Organic Chicken Broth or Campbell’s Organic Chicken Broth. Vegetable broth and most other chicken broths I’ve tried turn it really brown. Also, you might want to set aside a cup or two for the sauce before you throw in the chili powder in the rest because that will darken it as well, just add a bit back in the ravioli filling if you want a bit of the heat.

Shrimp Ravioli in Corn Sauce

shrimpravioli2cblog.jpg

1lb shrimp, deveined and peeled
1/2 onion, minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 – 6oz Manchego cheese, coarsely grated
zest from 2 limes
salt

36 wonton skins
1 egg, lightly beaten

Cut the shrimp up into 1/2″ or less sized pieces. Cook over medium-high heat in a skillet until just cooked through. Immediately transfer to a bowl of cold water to stop cooking. In the skilled cook the onion and garlic until tender and starting to brown. Set aside and cool.

When shrimp, onions and garlic are cooled, mix together in a bowl with the lime zest and Manchego. Add in salt to taste. Set aside.

On your work surface, brush the outsides of a wonton skin with egg. Place some of the shrimp mixture on the skin leaving about 1/2″ around the sides. Place another skin on top and press down edges to fuse with the bottom wonton skin. You’re going to want to be diligent about this or they won’t make it through the cooking process without leaking their innards.

shrimpravoliassemble1b.jpg shrimpravoliassemble2b.jpg

shrimpravoliassembly3b.jpgshrimpravoliassembly4b.jpg

When you’re done with a single ravioli place it down on a cookie sheet in a single layer. You don’t want a ravioli to sit on wet egg from another one or they will stick together. And that’s bad. When you’re done assembling the ravioli you can cook them immediately or cover them lightly with plastic wrap and store in the refrigerator until you’re ready to cook them.

To cook them, heat water in a large saucepan add in about a t of salt. When water is boiling, slide ravioli as many at a time as you can without them sticking together. Cook for 3 – 4 minutes or until they’re tender and soft. You don’t want to overcook them or they will break open.

When they’re done, scoop them out with a bamboo skimmer and serve with corn sauce. Garnish with cilantro and Parmesan cheese, if desired.

There you have it; what my brother did to my soup.

shrimpravoli1blog.jpg

10 thoughts on “What my brother did to my soup.

  1. Pingback: Today’s Hot Posts and Today’s Hot Blogs - March 29th 07 « BMSCE IAA

  2. i have sisters, so i thought this was going to be something nasty he did to your soup before you ate it or he made you eat it….but that’s a fantastic looking recipe. i’m salivating!!!

  3. I think adding some saffron to the soup pseudo-sauce would kick up the color as well as add an interesting Spanish flair along with the Manchego cheese. I can’t wait until next week when I have time to cook.

  4. Meek – Thank you! Speaking for all the sisters in the world I hope you’ve apologized! (Maybe you can make them some ravioli to make it up to them.)

    Joel – Excellent, let me know how it goes.

    Aaron – Going for Day-Glo soup – awesome! Let me know how that works out – she@mrsmarv.com

Leave a Reply

